THE EXPLOITATION OF MODELS WITH PHOTOGRAPHERS: WHY I FUCK WITH FEMALE PHOTOGRAPHERS NOW

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This a recent photoshoot that I did with Adam Lomax! His IG is @snapsoflomax. He is a male photographer and he is DOPE AS FUCK! and he is very creative and always makes me feel comfortable! So DISCLAIMER: I am not bashing all male photographers in this post because not all male photographers are bad but there is exploitation with models from photographers that NEEDS to be addressed.

 

I know this post is going to turn some heads but I don’t care. I feel like I need to speak about this. To really get out what i’m thinking and how I feel because I KNOW that other models are feeling the same exact way that I feel. So i’m going to share why I only prefer shooting with female photographers now.

Since I first started modeling when I moved to NYC, I linked up with a photographer from Queens, I was 18 years old at the time. He told me he wanted to build my career, and want to help me. I insisted. When I did my first photoshoot with him he took me into this sketchy hotel, and convince me that taking nude pictures of me would be artistic. But believe it or not, he would be the one who took my virginity that night. Eventually he would talk me into having sex with his homeboys, while i’m drunk in order to be apart of his “crew” . I never felt so low in my life, when I tried to file in court he threatened to leak the video of me having sex out. Back then, I was so scared and didn’t know what to do, and I just let it go. I had to wonder if I am the only female that has ever been exploited in the modeling industry.

I stopped modeling for a while because of it, but after growth and healing I linked up with another  male photographer again. He was about in his mid- late 30’s  and had a beautiful black wife  ( he is  white btw). I took really amazing photos with them. But then the photographer would flirt with me constantly.  He would slide in my dm’s with freaky messages that made me so uncomfortable in hopes for me to shoot with him again. I felt to disgusted. I thought ” When the fuck would this ever stop?”

So I felt like it was just the thing for male photographers to do. Just shoot with me in   hopes to have sex with me and exploit. They would use  photography as a way to boost their credibility on why I  should have sex with them. But after shooting with two dope ass male photographers recently, I know that not all male photographers are like this. But then of course another photographer did the same thing.

I went on a shoot yesterday evening, with another male photographer. I thought he was attractive, so we flirted and then he invited me over his house to make jerk chicken for me and I thought, sure. We watch movies, and played FIFA, it was a good time, then we started to make-out and stuff and then he pulled me away. So i’m thinking ok whats wrong?

He told me that he questioned my gender because of how open and assertive I was. How can someone mistake being a strong assertive and open woman as being masculine. I think that transgendered woman are beautiful in  every way shape or form. But to question my gender because of how sexually liberated I am made me realized how misogynistic men can be.

So which lead me to question… should I stop modeling with male photographers now? When I shoot with female photographers I feel more comfortable and i’ve built really great bonds with them. Now, I do fuck with some male photographers  that I think are dope, so I am not bashing all make photographers in any way shape or form but I am making it apparent the misogyny between certain male photographers and female models. I am writing this to all the female models who have felt exploited and abused by certain photographers not only in NYC, but all around the globe; that feel like they have no choice but to deal with it. Thats why I want to write about this so all my female models can feel safe and know that they’re not in this alone. In this overly-saturated male dominated industry where models are starting to feel uncomfortable, we need to speak on whats present. until this is spoken about there will be no attention to it. This was a very soft  topic for me,  but if I don’t shed light about these things then who will? I eventually want to write a book about my journey because all in all, if it wasn’t for these things that happened to me I wouldn’t be the badass that I am today.  I love you guys very much and thank you for reading.

 

-STAY BEAUTIFUL STAY GYPSY

XOXO

 

Leave a comment